ITCC Volunteers



Thank you for Helping Create the Experience

Thank you to the many volunteers, from the ISA Texas Chapter and all over the world, who traveled to San Antonio, Texas to be a part of the 2016 ITCC. As we reflect on the 40-year history of ISA tree climbing championships, we appreciate the vital role that volunteers have played in maintaining the traditions and furthering the mission of the ITCC through loyal commitment and diligently recruiting new professionals to join the ever growing community of ISA volunteers.

More than 80 members worked with the ITCC Operations Committee and ISA staff to create a memorable ITCC experience for both competitors and the public. With a beautiful park, complimented by beautiful weather, the ITCC with the Arbor Fair and Expo attracted many attendees who were able to learn more about the professional practice of arboriculture and the importance of proper tree care. Congratulations on a job well done representing the arboriculture industry.

ISA is excited to see how the ITCC has grown and expanded providing new opportunities to promote safety and engage the public. Planning for the 2017 ITCC at the U.S. National Arboretum in Washington DC, when the ITCC will follow the conference, has already begun and efforts are being made to continue the momentum of the new event format and the opportunities it provides.

We look forward to seeing many of you helping us out 3–5 August in Washington DC.

Thank you again for another successful event. We look forward to providing quality networking and educational opportunities in 2017, and your volunteer support, so we can keep climbing for another 40 years and beyond.

—ISA Staff and the ITCC Operations Committee







Aerial Rescue

Head Judge: Phillip Kelley (Pacific Northwest Chapter)

Scoring Judges: Bill Conn (New England Chapter), Greg Good (Wisconsin Chapter), Mike Dirksen (Illinois Chapter), Keith Babberney (Texas Chapter)

Scoring Judge/EMT: Glen Wilson (Southern Chapter)

Timer Judges: Heath Gober (*Southern Chapter*), Tedo Hironobo (*Japan Arborist Association*)

Head Technician: Craig Bachmann (Rocky Mountain Chapter)

Technicians: Joe Shaw (Ohio Chapter), Andrew Misch (*Western Chapter*), Trenton Thomas (*Mid-Atlantic Chapter*), Felipe Bribiescas (*Western Chapter*)

Event Scorer: De Gouret Litchfield (Sweden Chapter)



Throwline

Head Judge: John Gauthier (Western Chapter)

Scoring Judge: Brian Kane (New England Chapter)

Timer Judge: Jim Breax (Texas Chapter)

Head Technician: Mark Moeske (New York Chapter)

Technicians: DJ Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter), Jeremiah Davis (Texas Chapter), Zach Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter), Daniel Rivas Torres (Mexico)



Belayed Speed Climb

Head Judge: Mark Noark (Ohio Chapter)

Timer Judges: Mike Christianson (Midwestern Chapter), Rachel Brudzinski (New York Chapter), Chor Leung Lam (Hong Kong)

Head Technician: Don Roppolo (Wisconsin Chapter)

Technicians: Noel Boyer (Midwestern Chapter), Lorimer Christianson (Midwestern Chapter), James Carse (Texas Chapter), Chad Delzell (Rocky Mountain Chapter)

Event Scorer: Rhonda Shunk (Midwestern Chapter)



Secured Footlock

Head Judge: Kristian Schultz (Midwestern Chapter)

Timer Judges: Paul Herb (Mid-Atlantic Chapter)

Keith Kanzler (Mid-Atlantic Chapter), Kenneth Smith (Texas Chapter), Masaya Matsumoto (Japan Arborist Association), Kazuo Kawamoto (Japan Arborist Association)

Head Technician: Justin McVey (Ohio Chapter)

Technicians: AJ Thibodeaux (Texas Chapter), Jim Bruner (New York Chapter), Matt Pregon (Midwest Chapter)

Clock Operator: Brad Hamel (Texas Chapter)

Event Scorer: Mark Brooks (New York Chapter)



Work Climb

Head Judge: Jeff Dice (Penn-Del Chapter)

Scoring Judges: Bob Bennett (Western Chapter), David James (New Zealand Chapter), Charlie Wagner (Rocky Mountain Chapter), Samuel Ma (Hong Kong Chapter), Todd Kramer (Illinois Chapter)

Timer Judges: Nicolas Martinez (Texas Chapter), Zaina Gates (Texas Chapter)

Head Technician: Tony Tresselt (Penn-Del Chapter)

Technicians: William Owen (Western Chapter), Court Sherwood (Rocky Mountain Chapter), Neal Howerton (Texas Chapter), Erick Palacios (Texas Chapter), Rogerio Mazzeo (Brazil Chapter), Jamie Montgomery (Southern Chapter), Curtis Schoessow (Texas Chapter), Alexandre de Queiroz (Brazil Chapter)

Event Scorer: Travis Vickerson (Southern Chapter)

Head-to-Head Footlock

Head Judge: Kristian Schultz (Midwestern Chapter)

Timer Judges: Paul Herb (Mid-Atlantic Chapter), Charles Erickson (Rocky Mountain Chapter), Masaya Matsumoto (Japan Arborist Association), Kazuo Kawamoto (Japan Arborist Association), Trenton Thomas (Mid-Atlantic Chapter), Matt Pregon (Midwestern Chapter), Mark Brooks (New York Chapter), Rachel Brudzinski (New York Chapter), Mark Noark (Ohio Chapter), Noel Boyer (Midwestern Chapter)

Head technician: Justin McVey (Ohio Chapter)

Technicians: Lorimer Christianson (Midwestern Chapter), Jim Bruner (New York Chapter), Court Sherwood (Rocky Mountain Chapter), Brad Hamel (Texas Chapter)



The Original Tree Climbers' Gear

Thank you to the 2016 ITCC Apparel Sponsor



Masters' Challenge

Head Judge: Tom Greenwood (Arboriculture Australia)

Scoring Judges: Phillip Kelley (Pacific Northwest Chapter), John Coles (Norway Chapter), Jeff Dice (Penn-Del Chapter), Rip Tompkins (New England Chapter), Greg Good (Wisconsin Chapter)

Timer Judge: De Gouret Litchfield (Sweden Chapter)

Head Technician: Mark Bridge (Switzerland)

Technical Advisor: Tim Bushnell (Penn-Del Chapter)

Technicians: Tony Tresselt (*Penn-Del Chapter*), Charlie Wagner (*Rocky Mountain Chapter*), Eduardo Medina (*Illinois Chapter*), Mike Dirksen (*Illinois Chapter*)

Event Scorer: Joe Shaw (Southern Chapter)

Operations and Logistics

Operations Chair: Eduardo Medina (Illinois Chapter)

Head Judge: Tom Greenwood (Arboriculture Australia)

Head Technician: Mark Bridge (Swiss Arborist Association)

Rules Committee Chair: John Coles (Norway Chapter)

Local Chapter Liaison: Kevin Bassett (Texas Chapter)

Emcee: Dwayne Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter)

Photographer: David Graham (Wisconsin Chapter)

Logistics and Set-up Support: Curtis Hopper (Texas Chapter Rachel Cywinski (Texas Chapter), Emily Driscoll (Texas Chapter), Scott Geer (Texas Chapter), Paul Johnson (Texas Chapter), Rachel McGregor (Texas Chapter), Brian Scott (Texas Chapter), Girogio Zenone (Italy Chapter), Vito Cordasco (Swiss Arborist Association)



Scoring Team

Head Scorer: Alex Julius (ISA)

Scorer: Kathy Ashmore (ISA), Colleen Skiera (ISA/Illinois) Kirsten Schneider (Texas Chapter), Elysia Etter (Texas Chapter) Runner: Steve Driskill (Texas Chapter), Sharon Reed (Texas Chapter), Margo Cummings (Texas Chapter)