ITCC Volunteers

Thank you to our 2013 ITCC Volunteers



As I sit back and reflect on the weeks, days, hours, and minutes collectively spent making an event such as ITCC happen, I realize the importance and magnitude of everyone's contribution. No matter how small as-

signed responsibilities may seem, or how large the commitment undertaken, each individual contribution made it possible to once again deliver a stellar platform for the best climbers in the world to perform.

Toronto 2013 had many obstacles (smaller trees, softer trees, higher risk trees, and a boat) all of which were overcome by a positive atmosphere, the willingness to give, and the acceptance of the challenge. At day's end the competition was safe and consistent for everyone. Having the Masters' in a willow certainly posed questions in the beginning, but truthfully I believe it contributed to a great technical climb. The choice allowed us to see who truly works a tree while minimizing risk, as well as, provided great visibility for the crowd.

All of this was not possible without the help of the entire "Tribe." (Tribe: a social group comprising numerous families, clans, or generations together with volunteers, dependents, or adopted strangers, a group of persons having a common character, occupation, or interest.) Former volunteers have often referred to the ITCC volunteers as a "tribe" and I believe that is very much the case especially after 2013. The exposure was awesome and the team of judges and technicians to make it all happen was exceptional.

I send a huge thank you to the numerous volunteers, and a very special thank you to the core operations team – Mark Bridge, Tom Greenwood and Dwayne Neustaeter – for having the backs of the volunteers and whose significant contributions allowed it to all come together. Also thanks to Rip Tompkins and John "Didj" Coles for providing support with rules and to the scoring team.

Looking forward to "Old Milwaukee" where it all started for me personally in 2001 and now taking us into 2014.

Thank you ALL so much!!

Andrew Hordyk ITCC Chair





Head Judge: Phillip Kelley (Southern Chapter)

Scoring Judge: Taylor Hamel (Minnesota Chapter), Bruce Duffy (New England Chapter), Melissa LeVangie (New England Chapter), Gregory Good (Wisconsin Chapter)

Head Technician: Ed Carpenter (New England Chapter) *Technician:* Rick Denbeau (Kentucky Chapter), Norm Hall (Illinois Chapter), Matt Vinet (Prairie Chapter), Stuart Witt (Ontario Chapter), Melissa Duffy (New England Chapter)

EMT Technician: Glen Wilson (Southern Chapter)

EMT Technician Assistant: Josh Galiley (New York Chapter) *Event Scorer*: Tim Werkman (Ontario Chapter)

Head-to-Head Footlock

Head Judge: Philip Ruiz (Western Chapter)

Timer Judge: Kris Edson (Penn-Del Chapter), Mark Noark (Ohio Chapter), Daniel Holliday (Pacific-NW Chapter), Lorimer Christiansen (Midwestern Chapter), Chris Miller (Penn-Del Chapter), Joe Shaw (Southern Chapter), Nicholas Dankers (Pacific-NW Chapter), Mike Christiansen (Midwestern Chapter), Greg Good (Wisconsin Chapter), DJ Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter)

Head technician: Kristian Shultz (Midwestern Chapter)

Technician: Danny LeBlanc (Atlantic Chapter), Chris Robinson (Quebec Chapter), Shane Blacktopp (Pacific-NW Chapter), Stuart Witt (Ontario Chapter)

Event Scorer: Myria Boyer (Midwestern Chapter)



Secured Footlock

Head Judge: Philip Ruiz (Western Chapter)

Timer Judge: Kris Edson (Penn-Del Chapter), Chris Miller (Penn-Del Chapter), Daniel Holliday (Pacific-NW Chapter), Joe Shaw (Southern Chapter), Nicholas Dankers (Pacific-NW Chapter), Keith Kanzler (Mid-Atlantic Chapter)

Head Technician: Kristian Shultz (Midwestern Chapter)
Technician: Shane Blacktopp (Pacific-NW Chapter)
Matt Wishart (Atlantic Chapter), Chris Robinson (Quebec Chapter)
Event Scorer: Myria Boyer (Midwestern Chapter)

Thank you to the 2013 ITCC Apparel Sponsor





Throwline

Head Judge: Steve Nagy (Mid-Atlantic Chapter)
Scoring Judge: Mark Moeske (New York Chapter)
Throw Timer Judge: Mike Tilford (Rocky Mountain Chapter)
Head Technician: John P. Gauthier (Western Chapter)
Technician: Lawrence Schultz (New York Chaper)
Event Scorer: Sandy Willet (Western Chapter)



Work Climb

Head Judge: Jeff Dice (Penn-Del Chapter)

Scoring Judge: Kathy Holzer (Pacific-NW Chapter), Warren Williams (Southern Chapter), Bob Bennett (Western Chapter), William (Bill) Conn (New England Chapter), Bear LeVangie (New England Chapter)

Head Technician: Tony Tresselt (Penn-Del Chapter)

Technician: Jamie Montgomery (Southern Chapter), David James (New Zealand), Cory Shelton (Southern Chapter), Jason Diehl (Kentucky Chapter), Danny LeBlanc (Atlantic Chapter), Cody Menken (Ontario Chapter), Maison Montgomery (Southern Chapter), Jacob Watrous (New England Chapter)

Event Scorer: Ben Sauve (Ontario Chapter)



Scoring Team

Head Scorer: Wendy Jensen (Arboriculture Australia) *Scorer:* Donna Miller (Penn-Del Chapter) *Runner:* Zach Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter)



Belayed Speed Climb

Head Judge: Mark Noark (Ohio Chapter)

Timer Judge: Lorimer Christiansen (Midwestern Chapter), Ben Wright (Penn-Del Chapter), DJ Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter) *Head Technician:* Eduardo Medina (Illinois Chapter) *Technician:* Mike Christiansen (Midwestern Chapter), Merton Labare (Penn-Del Chapter)

Masters' Challenge

Head Judges: Andrew Hordyk (Ontario Chapter), Tom Greenwood (Arboriculture Australia)

Men's Scoring Judge: Warren Williams (Southern Chapter), Jeff Dice (Penn-Del Chapter), Melissa LeVangie (New England Chapter), John Coles (Norway), Phillip Kelley (Southern Chapter)

Women's Scoring Judge: Rip Tompkins (New England Chapter), Jared Abrojena (Western Chapter), Bear LeVangie (New England Chapter), deGouret Litchfield (Swedish Chapter), Bob Bennett (Western Chapter)

Head Technician: Mark Bridge (Switzerland)

Assistant Head Technician: Tony Tressault (Penn-Del Chapter) Technical Advisor: Tim Bushnell (Penn-Del Chapter) Technician: Rick Denbeau (Kentucky Chapter), Matt Wishart (Atlantic Chapter)

Men's Head Timer: deGouret Litchfield (Swedish Chapter)
Men's Clock Timer: Bob Bennett (Western Chapter)
Women's Head Timer: Phillip Kelley (Southern Chapter)
Women's Clock Timer: John Coles (Norway)

Event Scorer: Bill Conn (New England)

Operations and Logistics

ITCC Chair: Andrew Hordyk (Ontario Chapter) Operations Chair: Dwayne Neustaeter (Prairie Chapter) Head Judge: Tom Greenwood (Arboriculture Australia) Head Technician: Mark Bridge (Swiss Arborist Association) Technical Advisor: Tim Bushnell (Penn-Del Chapter) Rules Committee: Rip Tompkins (New England Chapter) Rules Assistance: John "Didj" Coles (Penn-Del Chapter) Local Chapter Liaison: Andrew Fredrikse (Ontario Chapter) Equipment Manager: Colleen Skiera (Illinois Chapter) Sponsor Representative: Gordon Ober (Davey Tree Expert Co.) Administration/Publicity: Sonia Garth (ISA Staff) Assistant/Administration: Kathy Hall (Illinois Chapter) Logistics: Kara Stachowiak (ISA Staff) Assistant/Logistics: Bruce Hartnett (Ontario Chapter) Photography: David Graham (Wisconsin Chapter)